History and Heritage of Tomintoul

A Model Village

Founded by the Duke of Gordon in 1776, Tomintoul is situated on the line of the old military road built following the 1745 Jacobite rebellion.

The Duke hoped that the production of linen would provide an industry for local people. However this never caught on and the first villagers relied on casual employment, their cattle, and the cultivation of small lots of land to make a living.

Jacobites and Reivers

The site of the village was formerly occupied by the turf huts of a modest farm. A minor garrison was also posted here during the 18th century to suppress Jacobite unrest and watch out for reivers (cattle thieves) crossing the Avon.

A Resting Place for Travellers

Throughout its history Tomintoul has been a stopping place for tourists. This is reflected in the range of accommodation and services available in the village both in the past and present. Queen Victoria noted 3 inns when passing through on her Highland journey of 1860 and wrote commending a view over the river Avon that she enjoyed just to the south.

Visit Tomintoul Museum to discover the lives and times of former inhabitants of TomintoulTomintoul's Parliamentary Church was designed by Thomas Telford and built in 1826 at a cost of £750At the heart of Tomintoul is the village square which still has many Georgian and Victorian buildings.The Old Military Road was built by Lord Chas Hay in 1754 to help subdue the Highland ClansThe Bridge of Avon was also built in 1754 as part of the military road networkThe ford below Tomintoul was a favourite crossing point for cattle thieves before the Bridge of Avon was built
Credits Disclaimer